Sheriff Jones presents Latoya Lewis with his Scholarship Certificate

Latoya LewisSheriff Wayne L. Jones announced that Latoya Lewis of St. John the Baptist Parish has been named the recipient of the 2004 academic scholarship from the Louisiana Sheriffs’ Scholarship Program. Lewis, 18, the daughter of Valerie Lewis of Edgard, will graduate from West St. John High School this year, and plans to attend Dilliard University in New Orleans majoring in Political Science.

Made possible by the Louisiana Sheriffs’ Honorary Membership Program (LSHMP), Louisiana Sheriffs provide scholarships to graduating high school students from each parish where the Sheriff is an affiliate of the Program. The only limitations are that applicants be permanent residents of Louisiana; scholarships be utilized in higher education within the State; and students be enrolled as full-time, undergraduate students. Scholarships will be awarded in fifty-seven parishes throughout the State.

Jenna Oncale of St. Charles Catholic High and Stephanie Reher of Riverside Academy were named as alternates so that in the event the recipient is unable to take advantage of the scholarship award, the alternate (first and/or second) can do so,” according to the Sheriff.

Concludes Sheriff Jones, “Academic awards by the Louisiana Sheriffs’ Scholarship Program to Louisiana students best demonstrate what the LSHMP is all about. This is one of our proudest accomplishments. Simply, it is a means of investing in Louisiana’s future. And this would not be possible without the generosity of St. John the Baptist Parish’s Honorary Members and others throughout the state.”

For further information regarding the Scholarship Program, click here or contact the St. John Parish Sheriff’s Office at (985) 652-9513.